Oregon has enacted a temporary rule that expands the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) to cover certain situations that may arise as a result of COVID-19. The rule is in effect from March 18, 2020 through at least September 13, 2020.
The OFLA requires employers with 25 or more employees to provide eligible workers with unpaid, job protected leave to care for themselves or family members in certain circumstances. Generally, to be eligible for leave, an employee must be employed for the 180 day calendar period immediately preceding the leave and have worked at least an average of 25 hours per week during the 180-day period, though there are some exceptions.
Under existing rules, OFLA permits eligible employees to use up to 12 weeks of sick-child leave to care for a child with a non-serious health condition who requires home care and certain other reasons.
The temporary rule permits eligible employees to also use sick-child leave to care for a child whose school or place of care has been closed in conjunction with a statewide public health emergency declared by a public health official.
Employers in Oregon should review their policies, forms, practices, and supervisor training to ensure compliance with the temporary rule. Please contact your dedicated service professional with any questions.