Maine has enacted legislation (Legislative Document 61) that expands the state’s family and medical leave law. The law takes effect October 18, 2021.
Maine requires employers with 15 or more employees to provide up to 10 weeks of unpaid leave in any two-year period for the following reasons:
· The employee’s serious health condition;
· The birth of the employee's or domestic partner’s child;
· The placement for adoption of a child 16 years of age or younger with the employee or the employee's domestic partner;
· A child, domestic partner's child, parent, domestic partner, sibling or spouse with a serious health condition;
· The employee’s organ donation; or
· The death or serious health condition of the employee's spouse, domestic partner, parent, sibling or child while on active duty in the military.
Legislative Document 61:
Beginning October 18, 2021, employees will also be entitled to take such for their grandchild or their domestic partner's grandchild with a serious health condition.
Covered employers should review their policies and procedures and ensure compliance with Legislative Document 61. Please contact your dedicated service professional with any questions.