West Virginia has issued a final rule that amends child labor regulations. The final rule is effective immediately and set to expire on Aug. 1, 2027.
Under state law, when a 14 or 15-year-old minor wants to work in a lawful occupation, the minor's prospective employer, the minor's parent, the minor's school principal, administrator or registrar, and the county superintendent of schools all must complete the Division of Labor's (Division) work permit form.
Note: The form may be obtained from the county board of education and the Division's website.
Under the final rule, when a 14 or 15-year-old minor wants to work in a permissible occupation, only one form must be completed, in order, as follows:
· The prospective employer completes Section A;
· The minor's parent completes Section B;
· The minor's school principal, administrator, or registrar completes Section C; then
· The county superintendent of schools (or authorized person) completes Section D, retains the original work permit, and furnishes copies to the minor's parent and employer.
West Virginia employers should review their child labor policies and procedures to ensure compliance with the final rule.