This notice is to inform you about how New Hampshire has enacted a legislation (Senate Bill 345), which amends its child labor laws. Senate Bill 345 is effective immediately.
Under New Hampshire law, among other things, in an employer's pre-determined designated work week, during which school is in session for five days, minors that are 16 and 17 years of age and enrolled in school cannot:
- Work more than six consecutive days; or
- Work more than 30 hours during the workweek.
Senate Bill 345:
Senate Bill 345 amends the state's child labor laws to:
- Remove the limit on consecutive days;
- Increase the maximum hours to 35 per workweek; and
- Repeal the limits on hours minors may work during short school weeks, and the provisions that limit early and late shifts for minors. It also allows employers and employees to opt out of these limits through a special agreement.
- Lower the age to allow 14-year-olds to clean tables, remove glasses and assist in stocking.
New Hampshire employers should train HR personnel and management and revise their policies and practices for employing minors to ensure compliance with Senate Bill 345.